Databases - Comm 1101 - Public Speaking - LibGuides at Catawba College

What is a database?

A database is an organized collection of data that is stored and accessed electronically. Think of it as a digital filing cabinet where information is systematically arranged for easy retrieval and management. Databases are essential in various fields, including communication, as they allow users to efficiently store, search, and analyze large amounts of information. For instance, in public speaking, you might use a database to find credible sources, statistics, or research studies to support your arguments and enhance your presentations.

New Database

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies on popular and heavily-researched figures.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Information and news from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the New York Times (1980-current).
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current)
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from the Washington Post, Dec. 4, 1996 - present

Special Note: You have access to the following online newspapers with your Catawba College login credentials. These newspapers are also available in our databases as well:

New York Times
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post

North Carolina Databases

Legislation from the NC General Assembly This link opens in a new window
Search Bills from the current session of the North Carolina General Assembly back to the 1985-96 session.
NCSBI Crime Statistics This link opens in a new window
North Carolina crime statistics are reports submitted to the NC State Bureau of Investigation (NCSBI) from participating law enforcement agencies across the state.
North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Data, health-related research, reports, and a comprehensive collection of health statistics for the state of North Carolina
North Carolina State Government Publications Collection This link opens in a new window
Find full text current and historic publications produced by North Carolina state government.
North Carolina Uniform Crime Report This link opens in a new window
North Carolina Crime Reports from 1993-2017