TA2525 Introduction to Research
Director of Digital Pedagogy and Scholarship
Introductory Activity
Based on the tutorial you completed prior to coming to class,
please respond to the Padlet Question HERE
"Presearch"
Presearch: Give your project a great start!
Get to know the topic you have chosen. Think about the topic, what your interests are and what you might want to learn more about. For example, are you interested in ecotourism? Try researching ecotourism in Central America. Do you enjoy a hobby or sport? Try visiting the organizational page for the hobby or sport you find interesting to see what the current trends and hot topics are in that field.
If you get stuck, there are some places to start:
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
. -
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
.
Database Resources
There are many databases to choose from at Catawba College.
How do you know which database to use?
You can search databases by Subject to see what Best Bets! are available or use one of our most popular overall databases like Academic Search Premiere to get started.
You will also discover new key words or resources as you move deeper into your research. Don't be afraid to try new search terms or even use the Discovery Search tool on our homepage to find a specific article or journal title.
What is the difference between searching a database and using our Discovery Search?
What are some "Best Bets" database selections for Theatre Arts?
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
.
Using Text Analysis to find more resources
J-Stor has a new tool called a Text Analyzer. Once you have one good article, you can upload it to the Text Analyzer and use the tool to identify primary terms, modify search filters and find other great resources. You may discover sources you never would have found otherwise! Give it a try!
-
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
.
Citation Styles
The citation style your professor has requested you use is Chicago Style. It is currently on its 17th edition. You can find links below to help you navigate this citation style. Please have your professor clarify if you should use Author-Date or Notes-Bibliography (NB) style.
-
Chicago Style Citation Quick GuideFind it. Write it. Cite it. The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. ¶ It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice.
-
Purdue OWL Chicago Style Citation GuidePurdue Online Writing Lab is an excellent resource and guide to many citation styles, including Chicago style citations.