Exercise Science Research Guide
Director of Digital Pedagogy and Scholarship
Padlet Interactive Activity
Where to Begin
Welcome to the Exercise Science Research Guide!
There are a number of tabs at the top of the page that will help you with your research.
A good way to begin is by searching the library catalog for print books and eBooks.
Another great way to start is by searching for journal articles. The Databases tab at the left of this guide will direct you towards a few that are especially useful for doing research in Exercise Science.
Getting Started with Research: 3 Powerful Tools
Before diving into deep research, it's important to build a strong foundation—and these three databases are designed to help you do just that.
📰 CQ Researcher
Looking at a current or controversial issue? CQ Researcher delivers in-depth, unbiased reports on hot topics—from climate change to education policy. Each report includes background, pro/con perspectives, statistics, and timelines to help you understand the big picture.
📚 Credo Reference
Need to quickly understand a topic? Credo Reference is like a scholarly Wikipedia. It provides reliable background information from hundreds of encyclopedias and reference books, helping you explore key terms, concepts, and connections. Great for brainstorming and narrowing your focus.
🔍 ProQuest Research Companion
Think of this as your personal research coach. ProQuest Research Companion offers interactive tutorials, videos, and tools to guide you through every step of the research process—from choosing a topic to evaluating sources. It’s perfect if you’re new to research or want to sharpen your skills.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
. -
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
. -
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new windowProQuest Research Companion was built to help students do more effective research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
Aligned both to ACRL Information Literacy and Common Core English Language Arts standards, Research Companion provides a framework and foundation for information literacy instruction. More than 100 short videos are organized into ten learning modules
Reference Titles
This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at the Catawba College Library for researchers in Exercise Science. Use the tabs at the top to locate useful resources for finding articles, background information, and more.
Below are some Exercise Science titles to get you started.
-
Ethical Leadership in Sport
by
Call Number: eBook 2014ISBN: 9781606498118Publication Date: 2014-04-18A practical guide on how to navigate the complexities of ethical leadership in sport, recognizing the increasing pressure placed on individuals and organizations in sport to ruthlessly compete to win, and at the same time to be exemplary social role models. Most leaders know right from wrong, but giving voice to your values isn't always straightforward. This book explores how to approach the ethical decisions, dilemmas, and value-based conflicts that emerge for leaders in sports organizations in order to make good choices, drive a sound culture, and reduce the risk of going awry. The approach is twofold: Coaching for the leader on how to make and act on an ethical decision when faced with a dilemma; and an exploration of those deep personal values and beliefs about self and sport that inform how the leader thinks and acts. The book considers ethics in the context of modern sport and highlights the classic ethical traps and cultural slippery slopes to avoid using case studies and examples. -
Exercise Physiology
by
Call Number: QP301 .P64 2007ISBN: 9780073028637Publication Date: 2006-05-01Written especially for exercise science and physical education students, this text provides a solid foundation in theory illuminated by application and performance models to increase understanding and to help students apply what they've learned in the classroom and beyond. -
Handbook of Research for Biomechanics and Anthropometry in Sport Science
by
Call Number: eBook 2017ISBN: 9781536104806Publication Date: 2016-01-01 -
The Handbook of Sport Neuropsychology
by
Call Number: eBook 2011ISBN: 9780826115720Publication Date: 2010-01-01"An estimated 300,000 sport-related concussions occur every year in the United States, many of which lead to short- or long-term impairment or even sudden death. Frank Webbe, one of the foremost leaders in the field, has compiled the most up-to-date, comprehensive volume on sport neuropsychology currently available. It presents, through the contributions of leading practitioners in the field, an exhaustive study of sport-related concussions and the multitude of management and treatment issues that arise from them. The handbook is structured within a conceptual framework, which includes an overview of the field, ethical considerations, risk factors and mechanisms, diagnosis and assessment, and counseling and rehabilitation principles. It integrates research findings from a wide variety of professional and amateur sports, including football, hockey, boxing, wrestling, and others. The book also addresses collateral effects of mild and traumatic head injury such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, and depression. Synthesizing all the diverse facets of the burgeoning field of sport neuropsychology, this clear and concise volume will serve as a springboard for research yet to be realized"--Provided by publisher. -
Handbook of Sports Medicine and Science
by
Call Number: eBook 2012ISBN: 9781118429907Publication Date: 2012-08-10"Handbook of Sports Therapy Services: Organization and Operations" is a practical guide, appropriate for each member of the multi-disciplinary "Sports Therapy" team, to establishing and effectively delivering the diverse therapy services required for athletes at international, national, and regional sporting events. -
Handbook of sports medicine and science : the female athlete
by
Call Number: eBook 2014ISBN: 9781118862209Publication Date: 2014-10-06This new International Olympic Committee (IOC) handbook covers the science, medicine and psycho-social aspects of females in sports at all levels of competition. Each chapter focuses on the specific issues that female athletes confront both on and off the field, such as bone health, nutritional recommendations, exercise/competition during menstruation and pregnancy, and much more. Fully endorsed by the IOC and drawing upon the experience of an international team of expert contributors, no other publication deals with the topic in such a concise and complete manner. -
Key Concepts in Sport and Exercise Sciences
by
Call Number: eBook 2008ISBN: 9780857023049Publication Date: 2011-03-13A very useful introduction to the key concepts in five main areas of study in sport and exercise science. The multi-disciplinary nature of the book is particularly attractive as it means that it can be used to support students studying a range of sport and exercise courses and modules. Furthermore, the chapters are concise, informative, written in an accessible style, and provide a good balance between theory and application to practice, making it a very interesting and relevant read' - Dr Lorraine Cale, Loughborough University. This book provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide t. -
Strategic Sport Development
by
Call Number: eBook 2013ISBN: 9781135998578Publication Date: 2013-03-05The field of sports development is becoming ever more professional, with the levels of expertise in planning and efficiency required of those working in private or national sports institutions higher than they have ever been. In response to this, strategic sports development has emerged as a means of applying business strategies to the context of sports development. Strategic Sports Development is the first book to directly address this important new field. The book comprehensively explains the strategic concepts and techniques that sports students and practitioners
