ENGL 2111 - (Sullivan)
Director of Digital Pedagogy and Scholarship
Where are the books?
Using the Discovery Search Tool
Our print books are located in the Basement in our compact shelving (meaning the shelving compacts so we can store more books in a smaller footprint). Ebooks are available in digital format wherever you and your computer device are connected. You can search for print books and eBooks using our Discovery Search tool. Ebook collections can also be searched via eBook databases.
The Discovery Search will search everything held by the Catawba College library AND libraries worldwide. If Catawba does not have a specific book or article, we may be able to get it for via an InterLibrary Loan request that you complete and submit to us. It takes anywhere from 24-48 hours or more for articles and significantly longer for physical books which come through the US Mail. Ebooks cannot be loaned via InterLibrary loan due to publisher restrictions and copyright issues.
Try our Discovery Search Here:
What is a Keyword?
Private Academic Library Network of Indiana [PALNI]. (2016). Selecting and Using Keywords [Video]. Vimeo. https://vimeo.com/showcase/3821136/video/242798719
Using Databases
Databases store and organize information and allow the information to be retrieved by searchers using keywords or searching different database fields. The databases at Catawba are full of information from newspaper articles to scholarly journals and even video resources or ebooks.
You should use these databases to help target specific information for your research needs. Using a database effectively can lead to more productive search results which allows you more time to review the information you have found, helps you find higher quality information than a generic web search and allows you to filter results to your search specifications. Most databases can also generate citations in a variety of formats and will email the article and citation directly to your inbox.
There are tutorials available for select databases. You will see a LEARN MORE button underneath each database that has a tutorial. There is also a side button on this page that provides access to a list of all the database tutorials that are currently available.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
. -
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new windowJournal database covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater, and more.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
. -
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos.
. -
Gale Literary Sources This link opens in a new windowArticles, critical essays, topic overviews, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
. -
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.
. -
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowFind women's eyewitness accounts of historical events from 1675- 1950. Women's writings and primary sources.
-
Project MUSE Humanities This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought.
.
eBooks
In addition to finding eBooks in our DISCOVERY search tool found on our library homepage, there are also many eBook databases provided by the library where you can search for eBooks on a variety of topics.
-
Bloomsbury Collections This link opens in a new windowCollection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of slave narratives.
-
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new windowFind scholarly ebooks on all subjects.
-
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
. -
EBSCO eBook Subscription Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles and test prep ebooks.
. -
NC Live (Home Grown) Ebooks Collection via BiblioLabs This link opens in a new windowEbooks from North Carolina publishers and authors. Includes fiction, non fiction and poetry.
-
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks This link opens in a new windowStraightforward and authoritative ebooks on consumer health topics.
-
OER Commons (Open Educational Resources) This link opens in a new windowOER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Includes hub for textbooks for frequently taught courses at North Carolina's colleges and universities.
-
Open Library This link opens in a new windowFind ebooks from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects.
. -
ProQuest Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews.
.